The US Navy Utility Knife, Mark 2

One time at a shop on Camp Eggers, I bought an Operation Iraqi Freedom Ka-Bar. It was stamped Army, but the paint job had an aircraft carrier on it, and I was a carrier Sailor who spent a lot of time with Army units, and I always wanted a Ka-Bar, so I got it. Because they are presentation knives, a friend of mine got me a nice little stand for it. I eventually stripped the paint off the blade, blued it, and blackened the leather with shoe polish. I bought a black leather sheath for it at AG Russell. I used it as a field knife until it recently started looking like a boomerang.

Now that Ka-Bar is producing a US Space Force variant of their famous fighting knife, which is simultaneously a joke and a serious tool/weapon, I may get one. Although I prefer the Vietnam-style all-black look, as far as space knives go, the Space Force Ka-Bar is certainly better looking than the Case Astronaut Knife – and less expensive.

Leave a comment